What is an IFSC Code?

IFSC (Indian Financial System Code) is a 11 digit code provided by RBI(Reserve Bank of India) for identifying individual bank branch in India. This code is used by RTGS and NEFT.

Benefits of NEFT:


The total process of NEFT is eco-friendly and drastically reduce paperwork.

Secure and efficient:

This system performs seamless transfer of funds from one bank to another. During the transaction there are no chances to occur mistakes and whole operation is said to be quick and highly secure.

Economic efficiency:

NEFT fund transfer service charge is much less instead of making transfer by using pay order or demand draft.

Risk free transfer:

There is no credit and liquidity risks in NEFT payment system. The fund transfer request is processed and settled in day’s time.

Format of IFSC Code

The code is of 11 characters. The first part is the first 4 alphabet characters representing the Bank. Next character is 0(zero), this is reserved for future use. The branch code is the last six characters

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11
Bank Code 0 Branch Code
For Example (SBIN0016993) IFSC Code
S B I N 0 0 1 6 9 9 3
Bank Code 0 Branch Code

IFSC Information

Bank-wise lists of IFSCs are available with all the bank-branches participating in inter bank electronic funds transfer. A list of bank-branches participating in NEFT/RTGS and their IFSCs is available on the website. All the banks have also been advised to print the IFSC of the branch on cheques issued by branches to their customers.

Where one can find IFSC code?